Hidden Sources of Gluten!

10+ Sources of Hidden Gluten!

1. Body and beauty products & Haircare/hair color/bleach!

Lipstick, toothpaste, body lotion, shampoo, hair color soap, conditioner, baby powder and sunscreen can all contain gluten. Because of this, I stick with beauty brands that are committed to offering both gluten-free and toxin-free products! You can look them up on www.ewg.org

Be sure to read labels and know the various names of wheat like the botanical name, Triticum Vulgare(wheat germ oil)! England and EU label wheat as Triticum! If you don’t know what something is on a label, look it up.

My favorites include:

You can find these at health food stores, Pharmaca and www.ThriveMarket.com

Acure(body soap, lotion, shampoo, conditioner, facial products)

Mineral Fusion for hair and make-up

My Chelle or Acure for facial products

Babo Baby or Goddess Garden or Badger Sunscreen

Top Chic Permanent hair color (not semi or demi or any other) by Goldwell

 

2. Medications, supplements and herbal formulas

Many of these have fillers like dextrin, which can come from corn or wheat.  There are several websites, such as http://glutenfreedrugs.com/ that list gluten-free medications. If you are taking thyroid, be sure it is Westhroid and Levothyroxine if needed which are the least allergenic of all of them. Synthroid contains gluten and doesn’t convert as well as Westhroid(natural) in most people!

 

3. Play-Doh and paints

Play-Doh is made from wheat flour, salt and water, and many paints also have wheat-derived ingredients. I make my own play dough with gluten-free oat flour. I use only No VOC paints in our house.

 

4. Sauces and condiments

Ketchup, mayonnaise, mustard, tomato sauce, gravy and salad dressings can all contain gluten. Distilled vinegar begins with grain! They cannot distill 100% of the gluten out, so look for ones that use apple cider vinegar or wine vinegar instead of distilled vinegar or white vinegar! Or, make your own!

 

5. Scrambled eggs

Some restaurants add pancake batter to make eggs, or buy packaged egg products that already contain batter in order to make the eggs fluffier. The chef & foodservice staff, may be unaware they’re using a product that contains wheat or gluten, so make sure to ask questions!

 

6. Stamps and envelopes

The adhesive that makes stamps and envelopes stick can come from gluten. I always use a wet paper towel to dampen the envelope seal or better yet, use self adhesive kind. Many glues are also made from gluten!

 

7. Luncheon meats, imitation crab and vegan meat substitutes, soy sauce

Wheat can be used as a filler in luncheon meats, and of course most meat jerky contains soy sauce. The “crab meat” used in many sushi rolls, like California rolls, is imitation crabmeat and contains wheat as a stabilizer. Many vegan “meats” and veggie burgers are either made from wheat or contain one of the these ingredients listed below.

Other hidden sources of gluten:

  1.  Artificial color
  2. Baking powder
  3. Caramel color/flavoring
  4. Citric acid (can be fermented from wheat, corn, molasses or beets)
  5. Coloring
  6. Dextrin
  7. Diglycerides
  8. Emulsifiers
  9. Enzymes
  10. Fat replacers
  11. Flavorings
  12. Food starch
  13. Glucose syrup
  14. Glycerides
  15. Maltodextrin
  16. Modified food starch
  17. Natural juices
  18. Stabilizers
  19. Starch
  20. Wheat starch

 

8. Alcohol

Beer contains gluten, of course, but distilled liquors such as vodka can also be made from wheat or rye or barley. Depending on your sensitivity, you may need to steer clear of these. I recommend eliminating alcohol entirely during the first 30 days on any of my programs or until your symptoms have resolved. However, if you have eliminated your symptoms and want to enjoy alcohol occasionally, I usually stick with tequila, potato vodka, GF Rum or Organic/No Sulfites added wine and gluten-free beer made from Sorghum. Do not drink gluten-free beers that the gluten has been “removed”, b/c it’s still there and only a molecule can trigger antibody production which take 6 weeks to clear the system/blood stream! Check out a full list of gluten-free alcohol and foods on www.celiac.com

 

9. Mashed potatoes & Soups

Flour is sometimes added to thicken mashed potatoes. Often flour is added to thicken soups!

10. Sprouted Bread

All bread, sprouted or not, that contains gluten(wheat in all forms both modern and ancient, Rye, Barley, Spelt, Kamut, and any oats that are not certified gluten-free can be contaminated with gluten.

11. Candy

You must read the ingredients! Licorice and many other solid candies are made from wheat flour. Wheat and gluten have many names they can be labeled as such as the botanical name Triticum or Triticum Vulgare(wheat germ oil)!

Read your labels and be aware. When in doubt call the company and ask, and if they don’t know or won’t tell you, don’t use it! Stay safe!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s